Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Self-Control Student-Leaders 2019
Self-Control Student-Leaders 2019
Ryan Scott
Wednesday, October 02, 2019

August / September 2019 “SELF-CONTROL” Student-Leaders

sponsored by DRUBY’s (Rob & Tami Bosgraaf)

During August & September, Main Street School & Kindergarten Center hyper-focused on "Self-Control." We had a guest speaker, local community member & Attorney, Liz Nohren, speak to the students.

Teachers reinforced in the classroom w/ literary stories & discussions highlighting characters & theme related to Self-Control & the students’ personal lives. Teachers & staff regularly praised this trait when it was observed in front of peers. 

We are strategic w/ the praise as well. We praise the character & effort/process w/ more value than the end result. i.e. We do not praise a student by saying, "You are smart" or “I am proud of you for getting an A." We say, "I was impressed w/ your work ethic & grit even when the math problem got difficult; you didn't give up" or "I noticed you allowing a peer to join your game & made them feel accepted."

Our "mantra" @ Main Street School & Kindergarten Center is "BE NICE; WORK HARD."

A special “THANK YOU” to Rob & Tami Bosgraaf w/ Druby’s for sponsoring “Self-Control” as our August / September Character focus.

We are very proud to announce the August / September 2019 Main Street Self-Control Students:

pictured (left to right): Ryan Scott (Principal); 1st – Avery Chapman, Jackson Palmer, Aubrey Yantis; 2nd – Makayla Goodwin, Hazel Atkins, Cooper Pierce; 3rd – Bella Miller, Crista Arebalo, Alex Dick, Andrew Hogue; Maggie Keown (Druby’s)

(not pictured): Owen Wakeland (1st)  & Gracelyn Stephens (2nd)

Kindergarten August / September 2019 Self-Control Students:

pictured (left to right) Navtej Sihng, Baydon Cole, Addilyne Conley, Eliana Roberts, Malyah Darnell

Students were identified w/ combination of peer input & teacher recommendation.